top of page

Interview with the author: Bob Igleheart

What better a way to start off a blog than an interview with the author himself? Here's a great way to get to know the creative guy behind these kid friendly books!

Q: What made you want to write children's books about dogs?

A: After teaching for 30+ years, I realized how much kids loved rhyming books and books about animals. It has always been a goal of mine to write books after I retired.

Q: Are these dogs really your grand dogs?

A: Yes! Buddy and Izzy belong to my son and daughter-in-law, while Harley belongs to my daughter and son-in-law.

Q: What age group do you believe these books are best for?

A: I believe these books are best for 1-6 year olds, but even older children would like the real pictures.

Q: After reading both books, I noticed that most of the action filled pictures look complex to take. Was it complicated taking these live photos?

A: All of the photos were fun to take, but some seemed to be more difficult. For example, we had to use peanut butter to bribe Buddy a few times. It was well worth it because one of my goals was to have real life activities of these beautiful dogs.

Q: What do you wish people get out of reading your books?

A: I hope readers of the Grand Dogs series enjoy the rhymes and smile at the pictures. I used various writing methods taught in elementary school to help readers unconsciously learn while enjoying the books.

Q: When can we expect the Grand Dogs series to be done?

A: I am expecting to publish the third book in the series, Grand Dogs: Izzy, around October. After that, I am hoping to sell the entire Bob's Grand Dogs series together!

Q: Will you be doing community events in the future that your fans can look forward to?

A: Yes, all of that information can be found on my Facebook page "Grand Dogs by Bob Igleheart." I have already visited and read to one elementary school and would like to visit more.

Thank you Author Bob Igleheart for your time, work, and great entertainment! Happy writing, Dad.

bottom of page